Back to archive

The Natives takes home three Flemish Television Stars


Last weekend The Natives took home three prizes at the awards ceremony of the Flemish Television Stars. The series from production company De Wereldvrede was voted Best Comedy Series. In addition, scriptwriters Bart Vanneste, Dries Heyneman, Wannes Cappelle and Gilles Coulier were awarded the prize for Best Script in Fiction, while Flemish actress Ann Tuts was presented with the award for Best Actress.

The eight-part series depicts the eccentric inhabitants of a picturesque village who are driven by misplaced ambition and vanity. When stand-up comedian Freddy De Vadder comes to town, everything changes.

The Natives recently also won two more awards on its home turf: the Ha! of Humo and the Cutting Edge Award for Best Fiction. It also received a nomination for a Rockie Award at the Banff World Media Festival in Canada, one of the most prestigious competitions for television and digital content, where it competes in the Comedy Series category.

The Natives received support from the Flanders Audiovisual Fund/Media Fund of Flemish Media Minister Sven Gatz and was also backed by the Screen Flanders economic fund under the aegis of Flemish Economic Affairs Minister Philippe Muyters and Cultural Affairs Minister Gatz.